E-visa to Russia from 2021

The e-visa, which is already available for some Russian regions, will be introduced for the whole country from the beginning of 2021. The list of states, which citizens are eligible for the e-visa, was approved by the Decree of the Government of the Russian Federation from 6 October 2020 No. 2571-r.

This list includes the same 52 states which have been previously approved concerning e-visas for particular regions of Russia except Qatar. Since 23 February 2020 there is a visa-free regime between Russia and Qatar.

The pilot project for the introduction of an electronic visa started in 2017 and had a few restrictions. Foreign citizens had the right to cross the border with such a visa only through the border points in the Far Eastern Federal District, St. Petersburg, Leningrad and Kaliningrad regions. However, they could not leave the boundaries of these regions.

From 2021 the e-visa will be valid throughout the whole Russian Federation. It will be possible to cross the border through specially equipped checkpoints designated by the Government of the Russian Federation, and travel in all regions of the country. In addition, the period of stay with an e-visa in Russia will extend from
8 to 16 days.

The e-visa can be only single-entry. It is issued for 60 days from the date of registration for a period of stay of no more than 16 days from the date of entry into the country. The processing time for a single e-visa is within four calendar days from the date of application.

An electronic visa is issued for a short-term stay for private or business visit, as a tourist, as well as for participation in scientific, cultural, social and political, economic or sports events.